Date # 2 – Zumba Boy

The second date of my misadventures in online dating took place at Starbucks (so unoriginal — I’ve since decided no more first dates at coffee shops! Over it!) We’ll call this one Zumba boy.

When I first walked into the Starbucks, I took a seat at a table near the door and immediately dove into my cell phone, trying to avoid feeling nervous. I saw a guy walk in and walk right back out, and thought to myself how much I wished it wouldn’t be my date for the night – the guy was not really attractive to me, and he obviously was awkward and weird since he had to go back outside to regain composure enough to approach me. I mean, I’m an attractive girl, but I want someone who is at least as ballsy as I am, if not more so….

Finally he came in and sat down with me and our conversation was extremely slow and a little weird. We talked about our work, families, hobbies, etc. As it turns out, he’s from a really great family, works really hard and has a lot of great things going for him. Unfortunately, he’s just not really my type and it would take a lot for him to get out of the friend zone with me.

It was a short but pleasant meeting, and on my way home, he texted me and thanked me for meeting him, which scored him major points (why are men so reluctant to call a girl right away? I want to know you’re interested!!!) Within the next few days, we made plans to hang out again.

I met up with him on a Thursday night, when the bar scene is poppin, and hung out with him and a friend of his (a very attractive blonde girl) all night. We drank and partied, danced, talked to random people, bar hopped, and overall it was a really really fun time. I enjoyed hanging out with the two of them very much and I saw him in his element – he’s super popular and knows everyone at the bars (the bouncers, bartenders, drunk college people, everyone!) I enjoyed getting introduced to everyone and the VIP treatment we got everywhere.

After that night, I heard from Zumba boy a few times (FYI, I call him Zumba boy because he does Zumba every week and loves it so much his face lights up whenever he talks about it, which is kin d of adorable…) We texted about how our days were going, what we were up to, etc. Twice he hit me up at the last minute to make plans, and both times I had already made plans and could not meet up with him. I was hoping this would teach him a lesson that I’m not a girl that just waits around – if he wants to hang out with me, he needs to get dibs on me in advance before someone else does…

I decided since we were in the friend zone and I’d heard from him so much, there was no harm in asking him if he was going to the bars again last Thursday. So on Tuesday, before I had all my plans lined up for the rest of the week, I texted him to see what his plans were. His response was  “ I think we’re going out”. Wtf does that mean? “We” as in him and his friends? Was I invited? I decided not to respond to that text and have not heard from him again.

He pursued me so much in the beginning, then after I could not hang out with him twice, cut me off I guess. Don’t guys want a girl who’s in demand? Is that really a negative thing? Shouldn’t that have made him want me more? Maybe he’s secretly in love with his pretty blonde friend. Whatever the case, I was not that into him anyways. I just wonder where I went wrong, because I would have liked to keep him as a friend. Oh well, there are plenty more fish in the sea. Goodbye for now, Zumba boy!

Leave a Reply

